RubyGems Navigation menu

À propos

Bienvenue sur RubyGems.org, le service d'hébergement des gems de la communauté Ruby. Ce projet a trois objectifs :

  1. Fournir une meilleure API pour gérer les gems
  2. Créer des pages de projet plus accessibles et transparentes
  3. Permettre à la communauté d'améliorer ce site

Le projet a commencé en avril 2009 par Nick Quaranto, et a grandi avec les contribution de 291 Rubyists et millions of gem downloads. À la sortie de RubyGems 1.3.6, ce site a été renommé de Gemcutter à RubyGems.org pour ancrer son rôle central dans la communauté Ruby.

Bien que Gemcutter n'appartienne à aucune entreprise en particulier, il a reçu l'aide de nombreuses d'entre elles. Le design actuel, les illustrations, et développement front-end de ce site nous ont été offerts par DockYard. Nous n'aurions pas pu collaborer et partager de code facilement sans GitHub. Ce site s'est lancé sur Heroku, dont l'excellent service a fait de Gemcutter une solution viable pour que la communauté s'y appuie en toute confiance. Our infrastructure is currently hosted on AWS.

Quelques informations sur les aspects techniques de ce site : il est en Ruby à 100%. Le site principal est une application Rails. Les Gems sont hébergés sur Amazon S3, served by Fastly, permettant un record de vitesse entre le moment de publication et de mise à disposition de gems. Pour davantage d'informations, le please check out the code est disponible sous licence MIT licensed sur GitHub.

Want to get your hands on our assets?

Just select the download button and you’ll get three .PNGs and an .SVG of the RubyGems logo all for yourself.

RubyGems Navigation menu

About

Welcome to RubyGems.org, the Ruby community's gem hosting service. The purpose of this project is three-fold:

  1. Provide a better API for dealing with gems
  2. Create more transparent and accessible project pages
  3. Enable the community to improve and enhance the site

The project was started in April 2009 by Nick Quaranto, and has since grown to include the contributions of over 115 Rubyists and millions of gem downloads. As of the RubyGems 1.3.6 release, the site has been renamed to RubyGems.org from Gemcutter to solidify the site's central role in the Ruby community.

Although Gemcutter is not run by one specific company, plenty have helped us out so far. The current design, illustrations, and front-end development of this site were created by DockYard. GitHub has also been invaluable for helping us collaborate and share code easily. The site started on Heroku, whose great service helped prove Gemcutter as a viable solution that the whole community could rely on.

Some insights into the technical aspects of the site: It's 100% Ruby. The main site is a Rails application, and the RubyGem serving is done through Sinatra. Gems are hosted on Amazon S3, and the time between publishing a new gem and having it ready for installation is minimal. For more info, please check out the code, which is MIT licensed over at GitHub.

Want to get your hands on our assets?

Just select the download button and you’ll get three .PNGs and an .SVG of the RubyGems logo all for yourself.